Gymnasium in Küsnacht

Progymi and Kurzgymi as of August 2025

WELCOME

From August 2025, we will open a Progymi and a Kurzgymi (Grammar School / Academic High School) in Küsnacht (Canton Zurich). This level marks the final years of study for the Swiss Matura which guarantees entrance to Swiss universities. For more understanding of the Swiss Education System click here.

The school is located in the immediate vicinity of the lake and the Küsnachter Horn. It is the ideal place to support students in their holistic development, to help them reach their full potential and to prepare them for tertiary education.  Find out more about our Swiss Gymnasium-level secondary education at the Information Evening on Tuesday, 9th April 2024 (19:00 - 21:00) - register here.

Stay up to date and subscribe to our Gymi newsletter.

OUR EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES

Our excellent reputation for encouraging modern languages from primary school precedes us!  German, English and French will continue to be taught and «experienced» at a high academic level. Our strength lies in sharing our passion for languages in a dynamic and interactive way, with an emphasis on cultural exchange and a wealth of communication skills. 

Pro-Gymi

Progymi

Immediately after the 6th primary class to the Progymi.

What is a Progymi?

A Progymi corresponds to the Sek A, but prepares pupils specifically for the Kurzgymi, i.e. the subject matter is taught in greater depth and the teaching methods are based on those of the Gymnasium. In addition, our Progymi curriculum is supplemented by the subjects «Design Technology» and «Humanitarian Studies».

Performance-oriented work, promotion of learning and task techniques as well as a fast pace of work characterise the lessons. 

Kurz-Gymi

Kurzgymi

Following a Progymi or two years of Secondary School (Level A).

Our Focus

The multilingual curriculum for our Kurzgymi will be complemented by two core subjects that are part of our modern vision for our Gymnasium: «Design Technology» and «Humanitarian Studies»

Bilingual Matura

We prepare our students for a bilingual Matura in German/English or German/French. In the near future, as we continue to develop our curriculum and class sizes, our aim will be to also provide the opportunity to prepare for a French/English Matura. 

ADMISSION CRITERIA

  • Internal students who can demonstrate an appropriate average grade as well as proven motivation to learn and work, ethics and social commitment have the option of exam-free admission to the Progymi / Kurzgymi.
  • External students undergo a written examination and a detailed interview with the school management in March. In addition, our students should be able to demonstrate at the interview their motivation and/or their experience for our specific Gymi topics. 

QUESTIONS?

Do you have any questions and would you like a personal meeting? We look forward to hearing from you by phone +41 43 500 10 30 or email  kuesnacht@tandem-ims.ch. Otherwise, we look forward to welcoming you to our information evening in spring 2024. Sign up for the Gymi newsletter today and stay informed.

Gymnasium in Küsnacht

Progymi und Kurzgymi ab August 2025

Herzlich Willkommen

Ab August 2025 eröffnen wir ein Progymi und ein Kurzzeitgymnasium in Küsnacht (Kanton Zürich). Diese Stufe beinhaltet die letzten Schuljahre bis zur Schweizer Matura, die den Zugang zu Schweizer Universitäten garantiert. Um das Schweizer Bildungssystem besser zu verstehen, klicken Sie hier.

Das Gymnasium befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe vom See und Küsnachter Horn. Ein idealer Ort, um Schüler*innen in ihrer ganzheitlichen Entwicklung zu fördern, ihr Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen und sie auf die tertiäre Bildung vorzubereiten. Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere gymnasiale Ausbildung am Informationsabend vom Dienstag, 9. April 2024 (19:00 - 21:00) - jetzt anmelden.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Gymi-Newsletter und bleiben Sie stets informiert.

UNSERE BILDUNGSZIELE

Unser ausgezeichneter Ruf für die Förderung moderner Sprachen von der Primarschule an spricht für uns!  Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch werden auf einem hohen akademischen Niveau unterrichtet und «erlebt». Unsere Stärke liegt darin, unsere Leidenschaft für Sprachen auf dynamische und interaktive Weise zu vermitteln, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf dem kulturellen Austausch und den Kommunikationsfähigkeiten liegt.

Pro-Gymi

Progymi

Direkt nach der 6. Primarklasse ins Progymi.

Was ist ein Progymi?

Ein Progymi entspricht der Sek A, bereitet jedoch die Schüler*innen gezielt auf das Kurzgymi vor, d.h. der Lernstoff wird vertieft vermittelt und die Unterrichtsmethoden sind an diejenigen des Gymnasiums angelehnt. Zudem wird bereits im Progymi unser Curriculum durch die Fächer «Design Technology» und «Humanitarian Studies» ergänzt.

Leistungsorientiertes Arbeiten, Förderung der Lern- und Aufgabentechnik sowie zügiges Arbeitstempo prägen den Unterricht. 

Kurz-Gymi

Kurzgymi

Nach dem Progymi oder zwei Jahren Sek A.

Unser Schwerpunkt

Der mehrsprachige Lehrplan für unser Kurzgymi wird durch zwei Kernfächer ergänzt, die Teil unserer modernen Vision für unser Gymnasium sind: «Design Technology» und «Humanitarian Studies».

Zweisprachige Maturität

Wir bereiten unsere Schüler*innen auf die zweisprachige Matura in Deutsch/Englisch oder Deutsch/Französisch vor. In Zukunft, während wir unseren Lehrplan und die Klassengrössen weiterentwickeln, streben wir an, auch die Möglichkeit zur Vorbereitung auf eine Matura in Französisch/Englisch anzubieten.

AUFNAHMEKRITERIEN

  • Interne Schüler*innen, die einen entsprechenden Notendurchschnitt sowie nachgewiesene Lern- und Arbeitsmotivation, Ethik und soziales Engagement vorweisen können, haben die Möglichkeit einer prüfungsfreien Zulassung zum Progymi bzw. Kurzgymi.
  • Externe Schüler*innen absolvieren im März eine schriftliche Prüfung und führen ein ausführliches Gespräch mit der Schulleitung. Darüber hinaus sollten unsere Schüler*innen in der Lage sein, im Vorstellungsgespräch ihre Motivation und/oder ihre Erfahrung für unsere spezifischen Gymi-Themen zu demonstrieren.

Fragen?

Haben Sie noch Fragen und wünschen ein persönliches Gespräch? Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme per Telefon +41 43 500 10 30 oder via Email kuesnacht@tandem-ims.ch. Ansonsten freuen wir uns, Sie im Frühling 2024 an unserem Infoabend begrüssen zu dürfen. Melden Sie sich noch heute für den Gymi-Newsletter an und bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden.